FROM CHAOS TO COMPLIANCE

This Wednesday | 12 PM EDT / 4 PM CEST

Action1 5 Documentation 5 SSO Authentication with Google

SSO Authentication with Google

To provide easy and secure access to Action1 console, Action1 enables users to log in using single sign-on (SSO) instead of maintaining Action1-specific user credentials. This explains how to configure SSO with Google as an identity provider.

Enabling SSO with Google

When you sign up for Action1, you have to create the initial Action1 credentials (without SSO) and then invite the existing accounts from your organization’s Google workspace. After creating the initial Action1 credentials while signing up, follow the below steps to enable Google SSO:

  1. Log in to Action1 using your initial Action1 credentials (do not click Google during login).
  2. Navigate to Advanced page and select Identity Provider.
  3. Specify Google as the identity provider. Keep the scope set to Enterprise. With this setting changed, all new users will use Google.
  4. Invite your colleagues to use Action1: select Invite in the Users section and specify the user’s Google email.

NOTE: We recommend keeping the initial non-SSO Action1 credentials for emergency recovery purposes, in case you lose access to your Google workspace. Store these credentials securely, as they have Enterprise Admin access by default.

Migrating Existing Users to Google SSO

Important: For the next steps, do not remove your last enterprise admin account, create a secondary enterprise admin, or elevate another user to the Enterprise Admin role. Failure to do so could lead to admin account access being lost. The next steps will delete user accounts to switch to Google. The users will be unable to access Action1 until their user account migration is complete.

  1. Navigate to the Users page.
  2. Find the user account you want to switch to Google and select Delete. Alternatively, set the user’s email to non-existent such as “[email protected]”. You will not be able to remove users that have roles assigned, make sure to revoke roles first.
  3. Invite the user again into Action1 by sending an invite link to their Google email.